Fashion Blogger Featurette: Cortnie of StyleLust Pages

Just think if things were perfect would it be worth it if even at all. So don’t act like you can’t take it, you were meant to be greatness. You can run to the stars.. – The Internet “They Say”

Hello Beautiful People!

I’m once again excited to announce our SECOND Fashion Blogger Featurette! We haven’t done one since February and I hope to start making this a monthly thing! Maybe even weekly! What do you all think?

This is Miss Cortnie Elizabeth! She is the blogger behind STYLE LUST PAGES & the creator of the stylish LOVE, CORTNIE clutches. I found Cortnie’s blog thru a blogger who was wearing one of the Love, Cortnie clutches in a post. Her clutches are prints and patterns that you have never seen on any clutch or purse before and that’s what makes them so awesome! Once I added her blog to my bi-daily (yes I said bi-daily meaning every other day lol) reads I noticed that her style is amazingly simplistic but she adds statement pieces that take the whole outfit from a 5 on the cool and laid back scale to a 25! Whether its a pair of BAD platforms or pumps with a patterned heel or Maxi Skirt with one of her BOLD clutches she always makes the outfit work!

So we caught up through e-mail and asked a few questions that we figured everyone would want to know!

Press Forward: Where are you from? What do you do?

Cortnie: I was born and raised in Maryland. Currently, I’m making my handbags full-time. 

PF: Do you attend school, if so what is your major? 

Cortnie: I’ve been out of school for 5 years now. I graduated from the University of Maryland, College Park. There I majored in Kinesiology. I thought I wanted to get into Physical Therapy. Wrong. A couple of months after I graduated I moved to California to attend the Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising. I got a second degree in Merchandise Marketing. 

PF: Awesome! What are your career goals?

Cortnie: I would love to see my clutches sold in stores all across the country. That would be amazing. 

PF: What made you want to start making clutches? & What made you want to start a fashion blog? 

Cortnie: They both kind of just happened. The blog came about almost 3 yrs ago with a main purpose to showcase my styling escapades. It became more of a style blog pretty quickly. I started making clutches about 9 months ago for fun. The bags I imagined carrying I could never find in stores. So I started making them myself. Turned out that people really liked them and I’ve been growing ever since. My blog and clutch-making go hand-in-hand. It was a great platform that allowed me to share with people once I started sewing.  

PF: Where do you pull most of your inspiration?

Cortnie: Everywhere! Trends, magazines, tv, or maybe someone I meet while I’m out. 

PF: People in the fashion industry view fashion as an art! Are there any other forms of art that you “loose yourself” in? Music, paintings, plays, etc.

Cortnie: Who doesn’t love music?! Everyone has heard at least 1 song they could relate to. Sewing keeps me pretty busy though. 

PF: How do you manage to effectively run your blog and making your purses and do everything else your life consists of?

Cortnie: Time management is so important. I usually set up my blog posts ahead of time so I’m not scrambling when I want to post them. It definitely helps when I have orders that need to be completed.

PF: Where do you see yourself AND your blog in five years?

Cortnie: I see my bags expanding, but as for my blog? I’m not sure. I can still see myself blogging in 5 years. As long as I still enjoy it I’ll still be blogging. 

PF: What advice would you give someone new to the fashion blogging world?

Cortnie: Stay true to yourself and have fun with it. Blogging takes a lot of time and dedication. 

PF: Who inspires you the most?

Cortnie: My mom! She’s one of the kindest people I know. I don’t know where I’d be without her.

follow Cortnie on Twitter @StyleLustPages & On Instagram @CortnieElizabeth

** All 3 Clutches Pictured were made by Cortnie & can be found HERE!

Hope everyone has a great Monday!

(@StylingsOfNonee Twitter/Instagram)

PINTEREST & TUMBLR

FOLLOW US ON BLOGLOVIN

, , , ,

  1. #1 by becomingelizabeth on May 14, 2012 - 4:22 pm

    She has such fantastic clutches! Love her look

Leave a Reply

  • bloglovin
  • Photobucket
  • Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Ionee’s Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Tima’s Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to follow PressForward and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • OUR SPONSORS

    Photobucket
